Just because you know the answer, doesn’t mean you should put in your two cents

I always enjoyed the ways the Northwest has changed me except for one thing.  We live in the land of know it all’s who constantly share unsolicited advice and I’m starting to fall into that trap.  I always enjoyed figuring things out myself but if I was really curious about something, I would hunt down Google or a SME and get myself educated.  As I have grown older and become wiser in some departments, I’ve found myself sharing advice and then I smack myself as I know if I was that person, I probably wouldn’t want to hear what I had to say.

Some topics that really need to be left alone: pregnancy, childbirth, parenting, religion/spirituality, the roaring 20’s and health issues. (I’m certain I’ve left out some other big ones but these are ones that I have seen go wild in the last year)  Pregnancy, childbirth and parenting really does not warrant unsolicited advice unless you believe that the parties involved are in SERIOUS harm.  Otherwise, the human race has been procreating for a number of years and seems to keep figuring it out.  But it needs to go both ways.  I know I need to can it sometimes as most parents become quite passionate about their experiences in these departments, but it can harm trust in a friendship, just like talking about politics.

Religion/spirituality is also hot button like politics as it’s a secret path into the person’s beliefs and it shows their true colors.  We live in a jaded world with everyone having walls somewhere and since passionate conversations pour out of this topic, it’s best just to let it be.

The roaring 20’s is the wild ride many of us take with entering into college and the bar/club scene.  It can be a fun one, but be harmful and dangerous too.  This goes back to an earlier statement, this “does not warrant unsolicited advice unless you believe that the parties involved are in SERIOUS harm”.  Everyone wants to be happy and feel good and everyone seeks it a different way.  No harm, no foul.

And as far as health issues go, if the person is getting help and not neglecting the issue, let them handle it!  Be supportive of someone who is seeking care as you don’t spend day and night with them and do not know exactly what they are going through.  If they are talking to you about it, just be there to listen unless they ask for help.

I do apologize to the people who I’ve pressed my advice upon.  Like I said ‘if I was them, I wouldn’t want that!’.  I, myself, am working on it and I think a lot of people should take note as it would break down a lot of walls in this world if we were more considerate of everyone’s paths in life.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Just because you know the answer, doesn’t mean you should put in your two cents

Give A Marner 2 Cents

