Why all the negativity, man?

Now, I haven’t always been the most positive sunshine around, but I’ve been redeeming myself little by little.  I don’t feel like I’m turning over a new leaf, but I’m returning to a better place in my life.  I’m putting more people in my life who are positive, light and really aim high in life.  I pick these people as I not only want these things for myself, but for my husband and my son.

I guess since I’m pressing forward in life on a positive note, I seem to notice a lot of negativity.  I don’t know if I’ve cleared my mind and eyes so much that I notice it more, but wow, I just feel awful that some people see the world and people in it in such a negative way.  So a question comes to mind: when you feel any negative thought, feeling or action arising, do you let it wreak havoc or do you proactively try to put a stop to it?  What a lot of people miss is all thoughts, feelings and actions (both positive and negative) begin with you and you determine how they will play out.

I’ve recently been doing some study regarding Three Simple Rules: Do No Harm, Do Good and Stay in Love with God.  Now while the third rule may not apply to you, the first two should resound within all people.  These should apply between families, friends, neighbors, co-workers and even nations.  While some of these groups may seem large scale, fixing them starts on a small scale; fixing such negativity begins with one person, you!

I really felt like I had returned to this better place when two things happened this week: I saw in my medical notes (that only doctors are to see; I think it’s the section where doctors warn/inform each other of a patient) that when I was in Urgent Care on my birthday, the doctor who was working with me noted that I was a ‘VERY PLEASANT’ 28 year old female.  And then this past Sunday at church as I walked away from greeting a fellow member, she leaned over to another member and said how sweet I was.  I finally felt like I was on the right track in life, that I was making positive waves around me.  I don’t know how anyone would want to miss out on making a positive influence in each other’s lives.

Now I challenge you this week and from now on, when you feel negativity arise, separate yourself from it and be proactive about making it positive.  Always remember, you have the power within you to make your life and those around you a much better, pleasant and positive experience.  While you might create some waves, they will definitely be good!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Why all the negativity, man?

  1. Ashley says:

    I really try hard to be positive and always change my thinking when I am thinking bad thoughts. Reading The Secret helps me do this (cheesy, I know.)

Give A Marner 2 Cents

