IMBHO… My Mommy Style

It’s difficult for me to watch/read the news, especially when it applies to children.  Not always what is happening to the children, but the great disservice many parents are doing.   What I mean is these parents not giving the children the support, discipline, guidance, values and morals they need from a parent.  Or maybe they coddle or ‘beat around the bush’ when it comes to just being a parent.  If you are going to have a child, you shape all aspects of them and you need to keep that in mind when you bring a life into the world.

I, for one, am against coddling.  I am direct with both my husband and our son.  I don’t want Lucas to be confused on what to expect from me or Noah or what is expected of him in any scenario he concocts.   Now, I love my son and he gets tons of my attention, but I rarely baby talk him (I usually use that to patronize him, that’s just a ‘me’ thing, folks) and I’m always blunt about everything that is going on, what he should be doing, what I’m doing, etc.  I let my son be a kid, but I don’t let him do whatever he wants.  He gets structure from the jump.

Why people shy away from being direct with their children I’ll never understand.  I am a believer in a great deal of society’s moral and value issues stemming from lack of involved parenting.  I COMPLETELY UNDERSTAND that society is very busy bodied and always on the run, but that should never be a reason as to why you are not involved in your child’s life.  While it takes a village to raise a child, you, the parent, are the village leader; don’t be the village idiot when it comes to being the parent of your child.

Being a parent is not easy!  But it’s not hard either.  It’s a lot of using your gut or common sense and going with the love you have for your child.  And if you can’t be selfless, you are in the wrong business, my dear.  While I’m embracing some liberal beliefs, I still stick true to some conservative beliefs when it comes to the rearing of my child.  I’m pretty certain I was probably married to John Wayne in my past life; if that gives you some idea as to how life goes around this house.

I don’t expect anyone or everyone to agree with how I parent and I don’t always agree with your parenting style, BUT I FIRMLY do not agree with parents who just let their children do what they want or let them run their own lives.  Children (and some adults) are just not capable of running their own lives and need our guidance.   Be sure you are giving your children the greatest advantage in life and that’s by being a parent, not a friend.

Tagged , , , , ,

Give A Marner 2 Cents

