If a picture takes your soul, let mine be worth a thousand words

I have had my face grace a couple of photo galleries as of late.  I’m so pleased by the faces that surround me in so many of them.  Yet I can’t look past the lines the years have written on my face.  They aren’t deeply cavernous, but they are more visible than they used to be.  Yet, I love looking at them as they are one of the many stories my body has to tell.

Nigel Barker, well known as a judge on America’s Next Top Model, once stated in a magazine article that he loved the pregnancy scars his wife, Cristen, had as they made her even more beautiful.  As I watched Lucas rip and warp my body through the 9 months and 10 days of the most rewarding process I’ve ever been apart of, I always kept that statement in mind.  Just as a child grows up and remembers why they have that nick in their knee, I’m glad I have pictures capturing all my ‘stories’.

This is another reason why I chose to continue my resolution from last year of making a better ‘me’ for my son.  Lucas needs to know there is no shame in being yourself.  Take pride in all that you are, all that you have to offer and all the stories you have.  It took me a long time to realize all the ‘imperfections’ (as many would call them) in my life and on my body were truly what makes me, me.  While it may not be what some want, all that I am and all that I will be is not yours.  I’m finally at peace with that.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “If a picture takes your soul, let mine be worth a thousand words

  1. I find myself feeling the same way. I am slowly starting to notice tiny, tiny wrinkles. Depending on the day, I am at peace with this or I am depressed by it. More often than not, as I stare at my face (narcissism much?) I find myself moving through a wave of emotions in a single instant. It typically goes like this: 1) fine lines.. I feel grown up, slightly sophisticated; 2) wrinkles! WTF! I haven’t done ANYTHING with my life yet! I can’t have wrinkles yet. Holy jeebus, I can’t be almost thirty, oh goddddd; 3) fine lines… smile lines.. I’m watching myself evolve and it’s a beautiful thing.

    Typically I end up being okay with it, but there are moments of panic that seem to last forever. I think a lot of it has to do with the ever long state of transition I’ve been in for years.

    Anyway, enough rambling. I’m really enjoying your posts. I do have a couple I need to catch up on though. Fingers crossed for a slow day at work so I may do so.

Give A Marner 2 Cents

