I really like child’s pose

I finally took a step back into the fitness world and went to my first yoga class tonight. It was one titled Yoga for the Rest of Us and it was a great introduction class. I’m not physically able to get caught up in the hot yoga trend so this class seemed right up my alley. Oh! And it was free. That was definitely a plus!

Now, I’ve done some yoga videos at home so I’m kind of familiar with some of the standard poses. And I’ve stood outside yoga studios like a creeper totally freaking out over the competitiveness of some of the attendees. All of these had me in an upper/downer doozy regarding whether or not yoga was right for me. I used to be really active: gymnastics, dance, and colorguard were the names of my game. But with the awkwardness I’ve felt since recovering from Lucas’ arrival, I just didn’t know what to do to get me into ‘play with a toddler’ shape. Now that Lucas is crawling, I gotta get this rear in gear to be running all over the place after him!

I guess this year I’m going to continue with the resolution I started last year: make ‘me’ a better ‘me’ for my son. I’ve been working on my psyche and surrounding myself and my family with better and supportive people. Now it’s time to get my physical self ready for all that Lucas wants to dish out. I don’t want to hold him back because ‘I’m tired’ or ‘I just can’t physically do that’. I want to experience everything he wants to experience. I’m really excited to see the world the way he does. I need a fresh take; my view has been jaded for far too long.

In short, today was much better than yesterday. I also had a discovery with Lucas: his two top teeth are about to cut! That could probably explain the meltdown yesterday; those teeth look pretty big! So, I leave you with…. Namaste.

Tagged , ,

Give A Marner 2 Cents

